Setting subtitle borders with FFDshow? how can i get ffdshow

Read the FAQ in here first then post your questions here if it doesn't help you.
Post Reply
goygakgoy
Posts: 478
Joined: Jun 5th, '05, 21:10

Setting subtitle borders with FFDshow? how can i get ffdshow

Post by goygakgoy » May 2nd, '10, 15:52

When I view subtitles in VOBsub, it's awesome, but it looks horrible in FFDshow. I want to be able to set borders so that the subtitles doesn't go all the way to the sides. I have used subtitle workshop but no avail to edit it. Below is the picture.

http://img210.imageshack.us/img210/4545 ... wvsvob.jpg

or how can i get ffdshow to display long subtitle lines into 3 lines"?

thanks.
Last edited by goygakgoy on May 2nd, '10, 17:06, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
raider73
Posts: 130
Joined: Jul 3rd, '05, 06:51
Location: San Jose, CA

Post by raider73 » May 2nd, '10, 16:12

Are u sure the subtitles are coming from ffdshow or is it coming from another filter like VSfilter. It seems to me that the font is just a little too big and you can just reduce the size of the font and it should fit just fine.

See if this helps if it is ffdshow that's the problem:

Here is the screen where you can set the settings for the subtitle in ffdshow. Set to split long subtitles and smart wrapping so all the lines are about even.


http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g36/r ... fdshow.jpg

goygakgoy
Posts: 478
Joined: Jun 5th, '05, 21:10

Post by goygakgoy » May 2nd, '10, 16:42

thank u for your reply.

i have done the split long subtitles and smart wrapping thing. The font size is exactly the way i like this. What I do is burn it on dvd and play it on my full screen. the problem is that when I play it on full screen, I can't see the parts on the side, as in the picture below.

http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/4623 ... pturem.jpg

Now that I think of it, I can resize the video, but it would be nice to have more control over the borders of the subtitles.

thank you.

raider73 wrote:Are u sure the subtitles are coming from ffdshow or is it coming from another filter like VSfilter. It seems to me that the font is just a little too big and you can just reduce the size of the font and it should fit just fine.

See if this helps if it is ffdshow that's the problem:

Here is the screen where you can set the settings for the subtitle in ffdshow. Set to split long subtitles and smart wrapping so all the lines are about even.


http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g36/r ... fdshow.jpg

goygakgoy
Posts: 478
Joined: Jun 5th, '05, 21:10

Post by goygakgoy » May 2nd, '10, 16:56

Also, maybe I can rephrase it and ask "how can i get ffdshow to display long subtitle lines into 3 lines"?

As you can see from my picture, vobsub did a tremendous job of doing so, but ffdshow didn't. I tried using subtitle workshop and did smart line adjust and other, but no avail.

goygakgoy
Posts: 478
Joined: Jun 5th, '05, 21:10

Post by goygakgoy » May 2nd, '10, 22:59

I found one way. Have to use subtitle workshop and set maximum characters. Then i set smart adjust, then set maximum characters. Not sure if it does both or only one, but that's what I do. It does give me 3 lines. Gives me a few extra steps and doesn't look the best, but it's better.

If anybody can make FFDshow show subtitles in 3 lines or set borders for the sub, that would be awesome, but i'm fine for now.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests