How to connect PC to TV

Read the FAQ in here first then post your questions here if it doesn't help you.
Post Reply
jcweex
Posts: 32
Joined: May 22nd, '05, 05:52

How to connect PC to TV

Post by jcweex » Jan 3rd, '07, 17:33

Hi, I just downloaded a bunch of dramas recently and watching them on PC is tiring my eyes. A couple of days ago I saw some people say they were able to connect their PC to their TV, and still be able to watch the drama. Can anyone give me any advice on how this works? I tried connecting an S-Video Cable from the laptop to the projection TV and nothing happened. :goggle:

Do I need to install a program on the Laptop? or get another cable?

Please I need help so I can watch drama's on TV without buying expensive divx players :tv:

Thanks in advance

User avatar
kill_mart
Posts: 27
Joined: Aug 17th, '05, 23:18
Location: ON, Canada

Post by kill_mart » Jan 3rd, '07, 17:53

what u did is correct. all you got to do is...

1. right click the desktop > properties > click settings > advanced > click the video card driver properties.
[img]http://www.OnlineImageHost.com/uploads/f3c6784324.jpg[/img]

2. click the nview display settings on the left and on the Nview Display Mode: Click the arrow and choose the Clone Display.
[img]http://www.OnlineImageHost.com/uploads/3a796aa6f0.jpg[/img]
Click apply and then ok. On your TV, Go to Video 1 and then that's it. you should be able to see dramas on ur projection TV now xD

3. if for somehow it didnt work at all. go back to the video card driver properties and click the Full Screen Mode setting on the left. You will see the Full Screen Device. Click that and choose Secondary Display. Click apply and ok. Done! xD

If ur video card is ATI. I cant help you there.
Notice: You can only watch video on your TV and the audio will still be coming from your Laptop Speakers.

Hope This Helps. xD

jcweex
Posts: 32
Joined: May 22nd, '05, 05:52

Post by jcweex » Jan 4th, '07, 06:43

Hi kill mart, I appreciate your help to me. I tried doing your suggestion but I seemed to encounter another problem. Instead of the GeForce 7600GT, mine was Intel graphics media accelerator driver. And since it has different settings, I still couldn't get it to work.

Anyone else have any advice?

cool_drama
Fansubber
Fansubber
Posts: 122
Joined: Mar 26th, '06, 22:34
Location: Nor Cal

Post by cool_drama » Jan 4th, '07, 06:53

try to find the display options within your Intel graphics settings and enable the TV display(or something that says additional display). I don't have Intel graphics, so I don't know the exact details of the settings, but it should have those settings since your laptop has S-Video out.
ImageImage

User avatar
ruisu
Posts: 301
Joined: Apr 5th, '06, 21:47
Location: I'm on your screen, taking up your pixels

Post by ruisu » Jan 4th, '07, 23:30

shouldn't have to but: connect the s-video to the tv, turn tv on, restart.

have to: http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/usin ... ors.mspx#3 (scroll down to the enable dual view part).

if the second monitor (tv) isn't showing up, try right clicking on the diagram of the 2nd monitor and select enable.

[img]http://xs511.xs.to/xs511/07015/enable_s ... onitor.png[/img]
that's what it looks like in vista. I hate doing it that way, because it's very buggy. your GPU maker (Intel) probably has a software suite that will let you do it cleanly. like that guy up there has nVidia software, and I have ATI software, something like this should come with (or be available for) your card. the software usually supports all lines of the graphics card (ie, nvidia xxxx, ati xxx-xxxx, intel gma xxx). find out your GMA model and check out the intel site, or just try that Intel(R) Graphics Media Accelerator Driver for Mobile program.

User avatar
ctdidie
Posts: 13
Joined: Dec 30th, '06, 05:03
Location: Tokyo

Post by ctdidie » Jan 4th, '07, 23:43

oh, this is a good topic.

what if i dont have the S-video port at my TV. mine is kinda old. i tried this before, i bought the S connector then i found out that my Tv doesnt have the port. anybody have any idea what i should do?

User avatar
ruisu
Posts: 301
Joined: Apr 5th, '06, 21:47
Location: I'm on your screen, taking up your pixels

Post by ruisu » Jan 4th, '07, 23:48

You can get a S-Video to RCA cable (or you can make your own :D ). I went to radioshack to buy one, and they wanted $30! So, I made my own S-Video cable (just thin wires running from my lappy to my tv (lol). I imagine you can do the same by splicing an old RCA cable...

User avatar
ctdidie
Posts: 13
Joined: Dec 30th, '06, 05:03
Location: Tokyo

Post by ctdidie » Jan 5th, '07, 00:47

O.O that's a genius thing to do.

but what is RCA cable? exactly how to do that?

User avatar
ruisu
Posts: 301
Joined: Apr 5th, '06, 21:47
Location: I'm on your screen, taking up your pixels

Post by ruisu » Jan 5th, '07, 00:57

[img]http://www.taiwanconnector.com/RCA%203m%20pic.jpg[/img]
you know those yellow, red and white cables...the yellow is the video.

since you already have an s-video check this out: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6812102122 then you should be able to plug your s-video cable into the yellow rca slot on your tv or vcr.

User avatar
ctdidie
Posts: 13
Joined: Dec 30th, '06, 05:03
Location: Tokyo

Post by ctdidie » Jan 5th, '07, 14:25

okay thanx a lot. now i know what to do. tho, i swear i've never seen such thing in my life or ever thought of the possibility of it's existence. T_____T

hontou ni arigatou!!

User avatar
raider73
Posts: 129
Joined: Jul 3rd, '05, 06:51
Location: San Jose, CA

Post by raider73 » Jan 5th, '07, 14:53

ctdidie wrote:O.O that's a genius thing to do.

but what is RCA cable? exactly how to do that?
S-Video to RCA Composite cable
[img]http://us.st11.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/ ... 589341.jpg[/img]

Only caveat is that there are 2 or 3 different types of S-Video connections.

Standard S-Video is only 4pins but laptop manufacturers have S-Video plugs that are 7pins and the extra pins can carry other signals like SPDIF audio like on my Dell.

[img]http://www.showmecables.com/catalog/clav026.jpg[/img]
S-Video Adapter: 7 Pin Male to 4 Pin Female
* Allows you to connect your laptop's 7-pin 'S-Video jack' to the S-Video or to the yellow RCA jack of a television
* This adapter is compatible with both NTSC and PAL video formats
* Adapter also includes a Digital Audio output (Black RCA) SPDIF

Watch, someone is gonna then say I don't have an RCA port on my TV, I only have Coaxial. If that's the case then you would need the S-Video to RCA adapter/cable AND an RF Modulator but then you would be better off w/ a new TV.

EDIT: A 4pin cable will fit/work into the 7pin port but obviously not the other way around

User avatar
ruisu
Posts: 301
Joined: Apr 5th, '06, 21:47
Location: I'm on your screen, taking up your pixels

Post by ruisu » Jan 5th, '07, 14:56

ahh, i was wondering why my laptop had so many s-video pinholes. the four outside ones still do the same thing, so you don't need anything special...the 4 pin jack still fits in a 7 pinhole slot.

jojo16
Posts: 41
Joined: Jul 5th, '06, 03:16

Post by jojo16 » Jan 18th, '07, 03:27

hmm i wanna try that

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest