How 2 expand free space on c drive???

Read the FAQ in here first then post your questions here if it doesn't help you.
Post Reply
User avatar
outcast
Posts: 126
Joined: Oct 30th, '06, 04:45

How 2 expand free space on c drive???

Post by outcast » Nov 2nd, '06, 08:31

I want 2 expand the free space on c drive in a safe way so i can burn my dvd's easily it said i should free some space to 3.4!!!
help me plzz
:sweat:

[url=http://www.atyab.com/uploadscenter/][img]http://www.atyab.com/uploadscenter/uploads/caa537e0eb.jpg[/img][/url]
Last edited by outcast on Nov 2nd, '06, 08:52, edited 1 time in total.

Please Buy From Amazon By Clicking Below To Help D-Addicts Forum:
User avatar
Felguard
Posts: 162
Joined: Oct 22nd, '04, 07:16
Contact:

Post by Felguard » Nov 2nd, '06, 08:45

Get a bigger hard drive. I didn't know hard drives of 6GB even existed.

Connect to another computer via networking and transfer the files to another computer.

reyoo
Posts: 34
Joined: Apr 26th, '06, 07:17

Post by reyoo » Nov 2nd, '06, 08:47

can you say it again
you want to reduce free space
or you mean "expand"

if you want more capacity you ought to buy new hard disk drive

User avatar
outcast
Posts: 126
Joined: Oct 30th, '06, 04:45

Post by outcast » Nov 2nd, '06, 08:55

my bad reyoo, u r right i want 2 expand i think i should buy output hard disk everyone r getting one

User avatar
groink
Posts: 2039
Joined: Dec 8th, '03, 03:58
Location: Pearl City, Hawaii

Post by groink » Nov 2nd, '06, 08:58

What I would do is:

1. Buy a new hard drive from a local vendor.

2. Have a service tech install the hard drive into your PC, and then duplicate the entire operating system onto the new hard drive, using a tool such as Symantec Ghost, Acronis, Partition Magic, etc.

3. Have the tech swap the two drives, so now the larger hard drive is the primary/master and the smaller drive is something else.

--- groink
1. Always read FAQs for a given forum before posting.
2. Read the first few posts in a topic before posting.
3. Speak using complete English words.
4. The Internet is international. Respect regional and cultural values.

User avatar
bugsie
Posts: 397
Joined: Jul 2nd, '05, 12:16

Post by bugsie » Nov 2nd, '06, 08:58

Felguard wrote:Get a bigger hard drive. I didn't know hard drives of 6GB even existed.
You're just kidding right?

@outcast If you have other partitions which are bigger that your drive C:, you can just change the path where the DVD image will be made in your DVD burning software.
Confused? Go FAQ yourself!








Last edited by bugsie on Thu Jun 18, 2006 12:00 am; edited 998 times in total

User avatar
outcast
Posts: 126
Joined: Oct 30th, '06, 04:45

Post by outcast » Nov 2nd, '06, 09:06

thnx groink u r always answer my questions, the problem is mine is new but i will go 2 same vendor and let him give me a new one and as u said, so i can burn dvd's as much as i want.

User avatar
outcast
Posts: 126
Joined: Oct 30th, '06, 04:45

Post by outcast » Nov 2nd, '06, 09:07

o0o0ps i forget 2 thank bugsie too, thnx again.

User avatar
raider73
Posts: 130
Joined: Jul 3rd, '05, 06:51
Location: San Jose, CA

Post by raider73 » Nov 3rd, '06, 00:04

It is hard to believe that a new computer has only 6GB of storage--I'm leaning towards Bugsie's explanation that maybe you have multiple partitions(this is how I would set up a system also--1 small partition for the OS and programs and 1 larger partition for all my downloads of movies and videos, also makes it easier to re-install windows when you need to) and you need tell your burning software to use the other partition(s) for the temp files for creating DVDs. If the physical drive is really 6GB total, then yeah, go get a new drive quick like Groink suggested since it seems that you're running WinXP and that 6GB drive is barely enough

darkchrno
Posts: 19
Joined: Oct 11th, '06, 14:57

Post by darkchrno » Nov 4th, '06, 10:53

reyoo wrote:can you say it again
you want to reduce free space
or you mean "expand"

if you want more capacity you ought to buy new hard disk drive
nothing's wrong if he said he want to expand his free spaces... he just need to delete or uninstall something those used up his spaces :P is he says he wanted to expand the entire hard disk spaces thats odd :| at the first glance i thought he's having prob using his hard disk at its most potential spaces... these probs can occur if the hard disk is not installed properly...

to outcast: may i ask what operating system are you using? :blink you might just as well format the c drive too :mrgreen: to get rid of unnessary files :mrgreen: and if you are going to buy a new hard disk i think its best if u buy a whole new computer because i doubt the hardwares that come along with that uber low disk spaces are of any good... =)

User avatar
H2O
Posts: 176
Joined: Mar 5th, '06, 08:58
Location: USA (I am Aquafina@Soompi)

Post by H2O » Dec 27th, '06, 08:16

I don't think I'm understanding the statement "no more than 6 GB" correctly. O_o Are you sure new computers do not have more than 6 GB storage space?

My C drive alone has 144 GB. O_o My D drive (don't know what it's for :lol ) has 4.69 GB. I bought it on NOV. 2005.
Last edited by H2O on Dec 27th, '06, 08:37, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.soompi.com/forums/index.php?showuser=106051 <--View my signature for LIVE streaming tutorials

User avatar
outcast
Posts: 126
Joined: Oct 30th, '06, 04:45

Post by outcast » Dec 27th, '06, 08:31

H2O wrote:I don't think I'm understanding the statement "no more than 6 GB" correctly. O_o Are you sure new computers do not have more than 6 GB storage space?

My C drive alone has 144 GB. O_o My D drive (don't know what it's for :lol ) has 4.69 GB. I bought it in NOV. 2005.
wo0o0w can U SELL ME YOUR COMPUTER????
GIVE THE NAME OF YR COMPUTER MAYBE I WILL FIND IT HERE!!!
Image

User avatar
H2O
Posts: 176
Joined: Mar 5th, '06, 08:58
Location: USA (I am Aquafina@Soompi)

Post by H2O » Dec 27th, '06, 08:36

I have a Windows XP Home Ed. I bought it at Best Buy. The brand name is emachines; it's similar to HP. :D

Oh my goodness! O_O You were serious?! :goggle: What kind do you have?
http://www.soompi.com/forums/index.php?showuser=106051 <--View my signature for LIVE streaming tutorials

User avatar
outcast
Posts: 126
Joined: Oct 30th, '06, 04:45

Post by outcast » Dec 27th, '06, 08:40

JUST KIDDING
DON'T REMIND OF MINE, THE VENDOR FOOL ME BIG TIME!!!

User avatar
H2O
Posts: 176
Joined: Mar 5th, '06, 08:58
Location: USA (I am Aquafina@Soompi)

Post by H2O » Dec 27th, '06, 08:44

Did you buy it some time ago, like before 2000? :D Can't you get a refund?
http://www.soompi.com/forums/index.php?showuser=106051 <--View my signature for LIVE streaming tutorials

User avatar
outcast
Posts: 126
Joined: Oct 30th, '06, 04:45

Post by outcast » Dec 27th, '06, 08:47

I bought it last summer, can u belive it, all i did 2 solve my problem is 2 format it and buy out put hard disk that's it.

User avatar
H2O
Posts: 176
Joined: Mar 5th, '06, 08:58
Location: USA (I am Aquafina@Soompi)

Post by H2O » Dec 27th, '06, 20:08

I have never bought a hard drive by itself before; personally, I think it's much more expensive than buying a whole brand new desktop system. :D

***I take back this statement because (as the posts below state), it is not true. :lol ***
Last edited by H2O on Dec 28th, '06, 01:30, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.soompi.com/forums/index.php?showuser=106051 <--View my signature for LIVE streaming tutorials

User avatar
outcast
Posts: 126
Joined: Oct 30th, '06, 04:45

Post by outcast » Dec 27th, '06, 20:18

no it's not expensive!!!
It's make my life a lot easier, belive me
by the way ur nick name remind of my lousy marks on chemeistry, I DON'T KNOW HOW I PASS IT, BUT AT THE END I MAKE IT.

aNToK
Fansubber
Fansubber
Posts: 1449
Joined: Feb 21st, '04, 08:34
Location: East Bay
Contact:

Post by aNToK » Dec 27th, '06, 20:20

H2O wrote:I have never bought a hard drive by itself before; personally, I think it's much more expensive than buying a whole brand new desktop system. :D
How in the world would $50-60 for a 120-200 gig hard drive be "much more expensive" than buying a whole new system?

Of course, if I read correctly, did someone say they bought a system last year that had a 6 gig drive? If so, that's the last dealer I'd buy anything else from. Someone unloading ancient parts on anyone like that isn't someone reputable by any means...
I am not obsessed. I am just very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very focussed...

User avatar
TrevorGod
Posts: 48
Joined: Dec 10th, '06, 13:28
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Post by TrevorGod » Dec 27th, '06, 20:35

There must have been a problem with the setup. As someone suggested, there might have been too many partitions or something, and the wrong drive was being used.

I can't believe that a 1 year old computer would have a 6 GB hard drive. It really is somethng I can not believe. You would have to go out of your way to find a 6 GB hardrive.

User avatar
outcast
Posts: 126
Joined: Oct 30th, '06, 04:45

Post by outcast » Dec 27th, '06, 20:38

TrevorGod wrote:There must have been a problem with the setup. As someone suggested, there might have been too many partitions or something, and the wrong drive was being used.

I can't believe that a 1 year old computer would have a 6 GB hard drive. It really is somethng I can not believe. You would have to go out of your way to find a 6 GB hardrive.
every time i hear it, the more fool i feel, omg, don't make it hard 2 me. :-(
Image

cool_drama
Fansubber
Fansubber
Posts: 122
Joined: Mar 26th, '06, 22:34
Location: Nor Cal

Post by cool_drama » Dec 27th, '06, 20:50

aNToK wrote:
H2O wrote:I have never bought a hard drive by itself before; personally, I think it's much more expensive than buying a whole brand new desktop system. :D
How in the world would $50-60 for a 120-200 gig hard drive be "much more expensive" than buying a whole new system?

Of course, if I read correctly, did someone say they bought a system last year that had a 6 gig drive? If so, that's the last dealer I'd buy anything else from. Someone unloading ancient parts on anyone like that isn't someone reputable by any means...

Hardrives are really cheap today...you can get a 250GB for about $60-$70

By the way..My 6 year-old 500Mhz PC I bought in 2000 had a 30GB Harddrive partitioned in two- C and D, which i took it all apart to get the parts...

Adding a HDD is easy, you can do it yourself. I believe your motherboard only support IDE HDD since SATA is for newer boards, so just buy an IDE HDD and plug it in the motherboard and power supply...then go to "computer management" to format the device.

I have a few HDDs I bought from a website called Newegg:

[img]http://img243.imageshack.us/img243/6970/tjtujgc4.jpg[/img]

User avatar
TrevorGod
Posts: 48
Joined: Dec 10th, '06, 13:28
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Post by TrevorGod » Dec 27th, '06, 20:58

outcast wrote:every time i hear it, the more fool i feel, omg, don't make it hard 2 me. :-(
Sorry... no hard feelings meant.
I just couldn't imagine it. Make sure you never go back to wherever you bought it from. If you do, give the guy a punch in the mouth.

User avatar
malay_tiger
Posts: 129
Joined: May 2nd, '06, 19:12
Location: Malaysia

Post by malay_tiger » Dec 27th, '06, 21:00

aNToK wrote:
H2O wrote:I have never bought a hard drive by itself before; personally, I think it's much more expensive than buying a whole brand new desktop system. :D
How in the world would $50-60 for a 120-200 gig hard drive be "much more expensive" than buying a whole new system?

Of course, if I read correctly, did someone say they bought a system last year that had a 6 gig drive? If so, that's the last dealer I'd buy anything else from. Someone unloading ancient parts on anyone like that isn't someone reputable by any means...
aNToK was really right...
how come buying a a new hard drive are more expensive than buying whole brand new desktop system??... hey, I have save about RM200 (about USD 50) for making my own computer system by building it myself.

The 250GB hard disk I bought it about RM300(about USD 75) early this year... and I think in UAE should have no problem buying new hard disk since it was one of the richest country in the world.

if you are really addicted to drama, then I think this is few suggestion :-

1) Do not throw away your 6GB hard disk. :lol ...well can make it as windows hard disk :whistling:
2) Buy new large hard disk... it depends on your money ( I prefer external notebook hard disk because I can make it as flashdrive but it more expensive than ATA or SATA hard disk)
3) make partition since virus usually attack Windows System32 and windows registry... when you format your C drive (then your drama that store in other partition SAVE!!!)
4) can use many tools to manage your hard disk like Partition Magic, Acronis and Norton Ghost just try to explore it...

hope this help 8)

cool_drama.... fuwahhhhhhhh, you really have a lot of hard disk + it really big LOL !!!! No wonder you download so many dramas !!!!


_________________
[url=http://www.d-addicts.com/forum/torrents.php?search=condor+2006][img]http://3w73.ewang.com/photo/20/000/689/20000689183073_l.jpg[/img][/url] [img]http://bbs.it.com.cn/Emoticons/bye.gif[/img]
[url=http://www.d-addicts.com/forum/torrents.php?search=condor+2006] :thumleft: CHINESE DRAMA : Return of the Condor Heroes 2006 (Shen Diao Xia Lu)[/url]
[url=http://www.d-addicts.com/forum/torrents.php?search=my+boss+my+hero] :thumleft: JAPANESE DRAMA : My Boss, My Hero[/url]
[url=http://www.d-addicts.com/forum/torrents.php?search=snow+queen] :thumleft: KOREAN DRAMA :currently stuck with Snow Queen[/url]

aNToK
Fansubber
Fansubber
Posts: 1449
Joined: Feb 21st, '04, 08:34
Location: East Bay
Contact:

Post by aNToK » Dec 27th, '06, 21:30

@outcast: For what it's worth, I was a field tech for Dell and Compaq, as well as running my own consulting business for years. I have to go to physical therapy for my shoulder and do some work on my car this afternoon, but if you'd like me to walk you through figuring out what exactly you have on your system and how to best upgrade it for your needs, PM me and when I get back this evening I'll show you how to check your hardware and can walk you through installing another drive, reformatting and partitioning the one you have, etc. depending on what you currently have in your system.

Let me know...
I am not obsessed. I am just very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very focussed...

touchthesun
Posts: 79
Joined: Jul 23rd, '05, 16:11
Location: California

Post by touchthesun » Dec 27th, '06, 21:36

aNToK wrote:
H2O wrote:I have never bought a hard drive by itself before; personally, I think it's much more expensive than buying a whole brand new desktop system. :D
How in the world would $50-60 for a 120-200 gig hard drive be "much more expensive" than buying a whole new system?

Of course, if I read correctly, did someone say they bought a system last year that had a 6 gig drive? If so, that's the last dealer I'd buy anything else from. Someone unloading ancient parts on anyone like that isn't someone reputable by any means...
Oh man...
Sorry, but I just have to agree with everyone else here. First off, it would be best for you to buy another HD. Dramas will easily eat up space especially with the size of the dramas out right now.

To free the little space left on your C drive, it might also help to defrag the drive to help it run faster as well, but for the most part, you do need another internal HD. If installation is a problem for you (it's pretty easy), you buy an external HD I saw one for about $79 USD for 250GB. Although slightly more expensive than an internal, It is no way near the price of any pc I've ever seen Also, they're mostly plug and play and very convenient to travel with :)

Secondly, don't feel too bad with everyone being in shock. In all my years of PC use, I've never seen a 6GB HD. Even my oldest Vaio notebook had 10gigs on it.
We're just concerned that's all. It's not cool to rip people off like that. I hope you didn't pay too much for it though. Hope you get something figured out :)

User avatar
H2O
Posts: 176
Joined: Mar 5th, '06, 08:58
Location: USA (I am Aquafina@Soompi)

Post by H2O » Dec 28th, '06, 01:26

:goggle: Don't attack me people! >_< I have never actually went out and shop for a hard drive before. :P

What I've said about a separate hard drive being "expensive" was from someone else. I'm not very techy, so I don't know this kind of stuff. However, several years ago, my cousin told me it costs like some hundred dollars, so I took his word as it was. :crazy:

Thanks for telling me the truth! :lol

As for dramas, I just download, watch, and delete them from my C drive; for the ones I really like, I burn it as data files onto DVDs. :lol

outcast - Orginally, I wanted the nick Aquafina, but someone has already taken it, so...H2O will have to do. :whistling:
http://www.soompi.com/forums/index.php?showuser=106051 <--View my signature for LIVE streaming tutorials

aNToK
Fansubber
Fansubber
Posts: 1449
Joined: Feb 21st, '04, 08:34
Location: East Bay
Contact:

Post by aNToK » Dec 28th, '06, 01:56

Hmm... I had an old HP Pavilion with a whopping 200 Mhz cpu that had a 4 gig hard drive in it. Might still have it around somewhere. Ah, the days of 16 meg sticks of ram.....

Of course, this was back in 1997. Scary that a DVD-R you an buy today for pennies has more capacity, eh?
I am not obsessed. I am just very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very focussed...

bellaheart
Posts: 35
Joined: Dec 17th, '05, 08:07
Location: Los Angeles

Post by bellaheart » Dec 28th, '06, 02:19

outcast wrote:I bought it last summer, can u belive it, all i did 2 solve my problem is 2 format it and buy out put hard disk that's it.

wait you bought your computer in summer of 2005? and it only has a 6GB hardrive? wow did you ever get ripped off. never EVER go back to that retailer ever again. i bought my computer beginning of 2004 and it has a 120 GB hard drive. the computer i had before the one i currently own only had 8 GB but then again it was purchased in 1999.


anyhow my brother got me a 300 GB hard drive for $100 but that's cause he used to work at best buy and got it for 5% above wholesale. but you can always wait for hard drives go on sale cause i saw that circuit city was selling a 250 GB hard drive for $75 two months ago.

User avatar
outcast
Posts: 126
Joined: Oct 30th, '06, 04:45

Post by outcast » Dec 29th, '06, 19:34

wo0o0o0w there r so many replies, thnx u guys
Malay-tiger, all i did is to format my computer & buy output hard disk from Toshiba which is great one, and yes I like 2 download j&k drama, so I'm running NORTON ALL THE TIME!!
By the way I'm not rich at all, yes I'm from U.A.E, most my friends r damn rich, but I struggle 2 have the things I have. 'THNX FOR YR GR8 HELP"
Antok: I will pm u later I'm kinda busy these days.it's our feast day tommorow, & thnx for yr suggestion i really appreciate it.
touchthesun: I can not agree with u more, belive me I learn my lesson here.
bellaheart: It's a valuable lesson for me belive me.
Trevor & H2O: THNX FOR PASSING BY AND REPLYING 2 ME.


That's mine :cry:
[img]http://www.f5f.com/uploads/12-29-06~qwer.JPG[/img]
Image

User avatar
H2O
Posts: 176
Joined: Mar 5th, '06, 08:58
Location: USA (I am Aquafina@Soompi)

Post by H2O » Dec 29th, '06, 21:54

Why would you need to run Norton when you're downloading J- & KDrama? Afraid of hackers & viruses? O_O

Do you download from DA or somewhere else? :D
http://www.soompi.com/forums/index.php?showuser=106051 <--View my signature for LIVE streaming tutorials

aNToK
Fansubber
Fansubber
Posts: 1449
Joined: Feb 21st, '04, 08:34
Location: East Bay
Contact:

Post by aNToK » Dec 29th, '06, 22:25

@H2O: If you're not running an antivirus program all the time, you're nuts!!

Takes as little as 4 minutes for an unprotected connected computer to get infected.....
I am not obsessed. I am just very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very focussed...

cool_drama
Fansubber
Fansubber
Posts: 122
Joined: Mar 26th, '06, 22:34
Location: Nor Cal

Post by cool_drama » Dec 29th, '06, 23:15

outcast wrote:wo0o0o0w there r so many replies, thnx u guys
Malay-tiger, all i did is to format my computer & buy output hard disk from Toshiba which is great one, and yes I like 2 download j&k drama, so I'm running NORTON ALL THE TIME!!
By the way I'm not rich at all, yes I'm from U.A.E, most my friends r damn rich, but I struggle 2 have the things I have. 'THNX FOR YR GR8 HELP"
Antok: I will pm u later I'm kinda busy these days.it's our feast day tommorow, & thnx for yr suggestion i really appreciate it.
touchthesun: I can not agree with u more, belive me I learn my lesson here.
bellaheart: It's a valuable lesson for me belive me.
Trevor & H2O: THNX FOR PASSING BY AND REPLYING 2 ME.


That's mine :cry:
[img]http://www.f5f.com/uploads/12-29-06~qwer.JPG[/img]

WOW a 160GB(149GB) HDD turned into 7 partitions...Lols.
ImageImage

User avatar
H2O
Posts: 176
Joined: Mar 5th, '06, 08:58
Location: USA (I am Aquafina@Soompi)

Post by H2O » Dec 29th, '06, 23:31

aNToK - Well, I'm running Norton all the time, too. But the way outcast put it sounds like Norton is taking up all the space or something. *_* I hardly download anything, and I don't really communicate (chat) to anyone, so who would want to hack into my computer?! >_< There's nothing on it, seriously. Plus, I know what to click and what not to, I'm pretty much safe (most of the time) :D

http://www.f5f.com/uploads/12-29-06~qwer.JPG
My computer is almost exactly like this, so how come I have 144GB and you 6GB? O_O
http://www.soompi.com/forums/index.php?showuser=106051 <--View my signature for LIVE streaming tutorials

User avatar
outcast
Posts: 126
Joined: Oct 30th, '06, 04:45

Post by outcast » Dec 30th, '06, 18:29

It's better 2 run Norton most of the time, It's much safer, & I'm kinda can live with my computer now, so thnx 2 all of u & happy feast day2 all of u ,muslims & non muslims.
Image

glace
Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 15th, '06, 11:28
Location: Paris

Post by glace » Dec 31st, '06, 16:29

Hi

you can put your drive into NTFS so you can compress the drive's file, you won't gain much space, but it's something that you can do.
Note, I don't think windows can do it without erasing the file, but Norton partition maggic can.

I've send a pic, of the proprety of my drive, it 's in french but it might be usefull.
Attachments
2006-12-31_171736.jpg
2006-12-31_171736.jpg (49.2 KiB) Viewed 2715 times

User avatar
outcast
Posts: 126
Joined: Oct 30th, '06, 04:45

Post by outcast » Dec 31st, '06, 16:41

Thnx alot glace, I will check out it now. Merci pour votre aide.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest