Magnet Links. (Tutorial)

Read the FAQ in here first then post your questions here if it doesn't help you.
User avatar
BaekSoo
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: Malaysia

Magnet Links. (Tutorial)

Postby BaekSoo » Mon Jun 06, 2011 12:46 pm

If all torrents are not working then the only remaining option is to download the torrent using the magnet link.

Click on the magnet link of the torrent you want to download. It looks like a U --->Image

Image
After clicking it, you may see some popups for Google Chrome.
Check-mark Remember my Choice for all links of this type and click Launch Application

Image
Popup for Internet Explorer. Remove the Check-Mark for Always ask... Click allow.

Image
Popup for Mozilla Firefox. Check-Mark Remember my choice for magnet links. Click OK (For Bittorrent / Utorrent)



If somehow this does not work for you...There is another alternative solution.
Right click on the magnet link. ---> Image

For Internet Explorer... Select Copy Shortcut.
For Google Chrome......Select Copy Link address
For Mozilla Firefox........Select Copy Link Location

Image
On Utorrent / Bittorrent press CTRL+U or File ---> Add Torrent from URL

Image
You just need to click OK. It should NOT be blank. If it's still blank...just paste on it.


It's slightly different from a normal torrent. First It will be empty. DON'T panic! That's normal.

Be patient and wait for it to collect the torrent info (It's called metadata) from other peers. Once the data is collected you will see that it's the same as any "normal" torrent.


Note: It may take a while to collect the information. Just be patient.
Last edited by BaekSoo on Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:03 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Image

efesun
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:05 pm

Postby efesun » Mon Jun 06, 2011 1:08 pm

Thank you! :-)

User avatar
haruna_hamasaki
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:18 am
Location: Up into the sky.
Contact:

Postby haruna_hamasaki » Fri Jul 29, 2011 6:53 am

Thanks. It helps me a lot! And it's easy too. <3
Image

rachelliew93
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:54 am

Postby rachelliew93 » Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:01 am

It doesn't work. I can't change the ASSOCIATE thingy to Associate with magnet URls. I also tried the 2nd method but it didn't work. Btw, I'm using Utorrent ver 3.0. HELP ME pls!! D:

rachelliew93
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:54 am

Postby rachelliew93 » Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:35 am

Nvm. I figured it out. :P

himura509
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 4:34 am

Postby himura509 » Fri Oct 07, 2011 6:40 pm

I'm sorry but I still cant seem to find the associate with magnet Urls. I mange to open the torrent but it was blank. there is no content.

User avatar
Ethlenn
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12708
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 6:16 pm
Contact:

Postby Ethlenn » Fri Oct 07, 2011 6:53 pm

Wait few seconds/minutes. if there are seeds, the file will appear, eh...
Image
Popularity? Since I know what it means to be forgotten, I won''t be shaken by it. KNG

himura509
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 4:34 am

Postby himura509 » Fri Oct 07, 2011 6:56 pm

If there is no seed how can i enable myself to gain access to the normal torrent link

User avatar
BaekSoo
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: Malaysia

Postby BaekSoo » Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:05 am

A magnet link is no different from a normal torrent. Except that it's missing a few trackers, but you can add them manually.

Follow the steps below to add trackers manually:

Image
Right click on the torrent name and select Properties.


Image
A tracker list is provided. Just copy and paste at the cursor as shown above.
DON'T remove the spacing in between. It won't work without the spacing.
You can also google to get a more current tracker list.


Image
It will look like this when you have pasted it. :thumright:


Image
Wrong setting. Trackers will NOT work.
Attachments
Tracker list (2).txt
Updated tracker list 26th August 2014 (24 working trackers)
(922 Bytes) Downloaded 1320 times
Last edited by BaekSoo on Tue Aug 26, 2014 11:36 am, edited 4 times in total.
Image

Loona
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 3:03 pm
Location: Paris - France

Postby Loona » Thu Feb 16, 2012 2:29 pm

I was just wondering: I use BitTorrent and when I add the file, there usually is a window showing the file data (content, size, date, ...). But when I use magnets, none of these apear and the total file size is set to 0.
Is that normal?

If not for that detail, magnets work perfectly well for me! :)

User avatar
BaekSoo
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: Malaysia

Postby BaekSoo » Thu Feb 16, 2012 2:48 pm

That's normal.

Just wait for it to download the data that it needs and If it's a batch, you can select the files that you want or don't want as the case may be.

Other than that, it's no different from any other "normal" torrent.
Image

mudav
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 1:51 pm

Postby mudav » Thu Feb 16, 2012 3:06 pm

It's not working for me >_<
I have no "accasiate with Magnets" option in my uTorrent so I tried the second option
I copied the link
Image
Then I pushed OK button and I have this: empty file without any video files that takes 0 kb of space o_O
Image
Then I push OK again and start "downloading" and downloading isn't happening even after many minutes
Image

What am I doing wrong? And what should I do in order for it to start working >_<

User avatar
BaekSoo
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: Malaysia

Postby BaekSoo » Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:14 pm

You have done everything correctly.

Panicking will not make it connect any faster. It will connect from a few seconds to many many minutes depending on your internet speed.
Image

Nemi79
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 5:28 pm
Location: Norway

Postby Nemi79 » Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:58 pm

I must be a big noob at this, but I do not have the option to Associate with magnet in my u-torrent either.
How do I go by to add the magnet links so I can download?

User avatar
bluchan
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 11:00 pm
Location: Outer space

Postby bluchan » Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:05 pm

Thanks for the tutorial :D

AJBryant
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Postby AJBryant » Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:18 pm

I only wish it worked.

User avatar
BaekSoo
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: Malaysia

Postby BaekSoo » Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:24 pm

Nemi79 wrote:I must be a big noob at this, but I do not have the option to Associate with magnet in my u-torrent either.
How do I go by to add the magnet links so I can download?


Did you try clicking on the magnet link? Try clicking on the magnet link and let me know how it goes. :-)
Image

Nemi79
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 5:28 pm
Location: Norway

Postby Nemi79 » Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:06 pm

BaekSoo wrote:
Nemi79 wrote:I must be a big noob at this, but I do not have the option to Associate with magnet in my u-torrent either.
How do I go by to add the magnet links so I can download?


Did you try clicking on the magnet link? Try clicking on the magnet link and let me know how it goes. :-)


I did, and It comes up empty : Just E: and then nothing at all, so I cannot save or do anything

User avatar
BaekSoo
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: Malaysia

Postby BaekSoo » Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:11 pm

Nemi79 wrote:I did, and It comes up empty : Just E: and then nothing at all, so I cannot save or do anything


Follow the second option then. It's the one in GREEN
Image

yyy
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 7:33 am

Postby yyy » Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:12 pm

Hi thanks for the tutorial!

Is there a way to permanently load a tracker list so that I don't have to add it for each magnet? (until I feel it's time to update my list or something).

User avatar
BaekSoo
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: Malaysia

Postby BaekSoo » Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:43 pm

yyy wrote:Is there a way to permanently load a tracker list so that I don't have to add it for each magnet? (until I feel it's time to update my list or something).


Did you try NOT loading the trackers? Does it still download even without the trackers?

If you are able to download then you don't really need the extra trackers. DHT works fine.

The trackers is only for those who have difficulty downloading WITHOUT the trackers.

I hope this helps.
Image

User avatar
Sorvaseven
Posts: 606
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 3:06 pm
Location: Europe

Postby Sorvaseven » Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:57 pm

I always thought magnet links works fine, but know i have one problem. I want to reseed a drama, but when i add the magnet link, utorrent doesn't find the original folder and doesn't check the files on my HDD. I didn't change the utorrent preferences or download destination and i didn't change the folder or file names. utorrent shows only "Download 0.0%" instead of "seeding". In the past i downloaded always the .torrent file and didn't used the magnet link for reseeding a drama, but unfortunately i deleted some .torrent files.

klam215
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 12:30 am

Postby klam215 » Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:05 pm

what if we only want to download one specific show..how can we do that?

Triela
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 5:47 am

Postby Triela » Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:33 pm

Nemi79 wrote:I did, and It comes up empty : Just E: and then nothing at all, so I cannot save or do anything


In case you had the same frustration as me, you MUST use a backslash if downloading to a root directory.

Downloading to E: won't work. Add a backslash - E:\

User avatar
BaekSoo
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: Malaysia

Postby BaekSoo » Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:36 pm

Sorvaseven wrote:I always thought magnet links works fine, but know i have one problem. I want to reseed a drama, but when i add the magnet link, utorrent doesn't find the original folder and doesn't check the files on my HDD. I didn't change the utorrent preferences or download destination and i didn't change the folder or file names. utorrent shows only "Download 0.0%" instead of "seeding". In the past i downloaded always the .torrent file and didn't used the magnet link for reseeding a drama, but unfortunately i deleted some .torrent files.


Click on the magnet link. Start the torrent and wait for it to download the info / details of the torrent. STOP the torrent when you have it. You need to be alert or else it will continue downloading.

I'm assuming you have already set a specific download folder for all your downloads. Copy or move your completed files over and do a Force-Recheck.
Image

User avatar
Madoka
Fansubber
Fansubber
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:12 am

Postby Madoka » Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:40 pm

I have a quick question. Can you download a magnet link to another computer and have utorrent recognize it?

Here's my deal: I have an old computer on my LAN that does nothing but seed and download Dramas. I have utorrent on that computer watch a certain folder and load and start downloading those torrents. This allows me to be downstairs on my newer laptop and check d-addicts for new files, download the torrent to the upstairs old computer, and have it magically start downloading. I would rather not have to go upstairs everytime I want to start a download.

Thanks.

takeda_shingen
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 12:05 am

Postby takeda_shingen » Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:49 pm

Triela wrote:In case you had the same frustration as me, you MUST use a backslash if downloading to a root directory.

Downloading to E: won't work. Add a backslash - E:\

Sorvaseven wrote:I want to reseed a drama, but when i add the magnet link, utorrent doesn't find the original folder and doesn't check the files on my HDD. I didn't change the utorrent preferences or download destination and i didn't change the folder or file names. utorrent shows only "Download 0.0%" instead of "seeding". In the past i downloaded always the .torrent file and didn't used the magnet link for reseeding a drama, but unfortunately i deleted some .torrent files.

I would report those both as a bug to the utorrent developers. (In the meantime, if you don't mind switching clients, Vuze opens magnet links like normal torrents, i.e. you can select the files you want, and where you want them.)

Unless the goal is to go completely tracker-less and the one tracker in the magnet links is just a remnant that will be removed, all trackers from a torrent could be added there, but that would need to be done in the site code that generates the links.

User avatar
BaekSoo
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: Malaysia

Postby BaekSoo » Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:52 pm

Madoka wrote:I have a quick question. Can you download a magnet link to another computer and have utorrent recognize it?

Here's my deal: I have an old computer on my LAN that does nothing but seed and download Dramas. I have utorrent on that computer watch a certain folder and load and start downloading those torrents. This allows me to be downstairs on my newer laptop and check d-addicts for new files, download the torrent to the upstairs old computer, and have it magically start downloading. I would rather not have to go upstairs everytime I want to start a download.

Thanks.


I think what you need is REMOTE DESKTOP. Another application is called VNC. (Google it) Use it to control your PC or laptop from wherever in your local LAN.

I hope this helps.
Image

User avatar
Sorvaseven
Posts: 606
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 3:06 pm
Location: Europe

Postby Sorvaseven » Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:52 pm

BaekSoo wrote:Click on the magnet link. Start the torrent and wait for it to download the info / details of the torrent. STOP the torrent when you have it. You need to be alert or else it will continue downloading.

Ok, i will be patient ;-). It is possible, that i have to wait for another peer to be able to download the info / details of the torrent? That makes sence to me. When i don't stop the torrent, it will be overwriting the existing files, right? I hope there will be no losses/damage to the files when i'm not fast enough :-).

BaekSoo wrote:I'm assuming you have already set a specific download folder for all your downloads. Copy or move your completed files over and do a Force-Recheck.

Ok, i will try it this way. Thank you! :salut:

EDIT: It works! I only hope the developers will insert an automatic system in a future version of utorrent. It's a little bit nasty to wait for a peer, stop the torrent, do a force-recheck and start the torrent again after waiting till the recheck is done. I don't move the completed files, it works without it. Thank you again!

saigo_x
Posts: 1317
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:14 pm

Postby saigo_x » Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:28 pm

Madoka wrote:Here's my deal: I have an old computer on my LAN that does nothing but seed and download Dramas. I have utorrent on that computer watch a certain folder and load and start downloading those torrents. This allows me to be downstairs on my newer laptop and check d-addicts for new files, download the torrent to the upstairs old computer, and have it magically start downloading. I would rather not have to go upstairs everytime I want to start a download.

If you want to continue using uTorrent, just click on the magnet link on your downstairs laptop and let uTorrent start the download. Stop the torrent and look for the downloaded torrent file in the uTorrent applicaiton data directory (%appdata%\utorrent). Copy the torrent file to the folder for your upstairs computer and then delete the torrent from uTorrent on the downstairs computer. At the moment uTorrent does not download the torrent file without starting the torrent like I do in Vuze/Azurues. From reading posts on their forum it looks like they are working on that feature though.

mainemanx
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Portland, Maine, USA

Postby mainemanx » Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:59 am

After a moment of high anxiety, it appears Macintosh Transmission users need only use a little of the previously-mentioned patience. Just click the magnet... and stand back... patiently.
-----
i7 MacBook Pro, Snow Leopard 10.6.8, Transmission 2.42

`elle_
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 10:22 pm

Postby `elle_ » Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:07 am

What can I do if I accidentely haven't "remove the Check-Mark for Always ask",
-I'm a superb noob- :pale: :scratch:

esqandar
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 4:18 am

Postby esqandar » Fri Feb 17, 2012 6:25 am

anyone got tips on how to use the magnet thingy with a seeder box such as torrentflux b4rt ? cheers

User avatar
\( -o _ o- )/
Upload Addict
Upload Addict
Posts: 6238
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:37 am
Location: (--<@>_<@>--) (--<Ö>__<Ö>--)

Postby \( -o _ o- )/ » Fri Feb 17, 2012 6:40 am

`elle_ wrote:What can I do if I accidentely haven't "remove the Check-Mark for Always ask",
-I'm a superb noob- :pale: :scratch:


If you haven't removed the check-mark for always ask. It will ask again and again until you check mark it. 8)
v ( ^ o ^ ) vImagev ( - _ - ) vImage\"( - ___ - )"/Image

User avatar
bluesue
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 1:44 pm

Postby bluesue » Fri Feb 17, 2012 6:41 am

esqandar wrote:anyone got tips on how to use the magnet thingy with a seeder box such as torrentflux b4rt ? cheers

idk if torrentflux support magnet link or not, but you can use utorrent first to get .torrent file and use that file on seedbox

but i believe later all seedbox will support magnet link

User avatar
dattebayoXD
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 1:58 pm
Location: Lithuania

Postby dattebayoXD » Fri Feb 17, 2012 7:30 am

Thank you! : ) I was interested in magnet links for a while, but never tried it out before. This became a chance ;DD

User avatar
XrayMind
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3577
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Land of the Sub-Prime

Postby XrayMind » Fri Feb 17, 2012 9:00 am

Neither the original torrentflux nor torrentlux b4rt support magnet links. Only the last version call torrentflux NG support magnet link. Also rutorrent 3.1 or newer will support magnet link, if it's running on top of rtorrent 0.8.6 r1144.
Please do not PM me about seeding any of my old torrents, as most of files that had uploaded are no longer on my computer.

takkichi
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 8:19 am
Location: Hawaii

Postby takkichi » Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:53 am

Thank you for the tutorial...it worked for me.

User avatar
SusieQ
Posts: 295
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 3:51 am
Location: Canada

Postby SusieQ » Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:15 am

I've used magnet links many times before on other sites, and even D-A when the torrent files were removed briefly. I had no problems.

However, upon the return of the torrent files this week, the magnet links no longer work properly. For some reason, when I click a magnet link it opens another program (StrongDC++) rather than uTorrent.

I thought this was something I did, but I I haven't changed any settings in Google Chrome, uTorrent, or StrongDC++, and magnet links at other sites (PIrate Bay, KickassTorrents) work as they are meant to, opening in uTorrent.

Was something changed here on D-A recently that would account for this?
<----made of awesome

User avatar
BaekSoo
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: Malaysia

Postby BaekSoo » Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:12 am

SusieQ wrote:Was something changed here on D-A recently that would account for this?


I'm downloading the torrent using magnet links and I doubt the problem lies with D-A.

It's working fine.

Most likely your app (StrongDC++) is causing the mixup.

Try using the alternative method. (In GREEN)
Image

saigo_x
Posts: 1317
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:14 pm

Postby saigo_x » Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:25 pm

Hmm, I just noticed this tutorial is written for version 2.x of uTorrent. Unfortunately the developers changed some things in version 3.X and are having all kinds of problems. It looks like they may have also changed the way uTorrent reconstructs the metadata using magnet links. :unsure:

saigo_x
Posts: 1317
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:14 pm

Postby saigo_x » Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:14 pm

saigo_x wrote:
Madoka wrote:Here's my deal: I have an old computer on my LAN that does nothing but seed and download Dramas. I have utorrent on that computer watch a certain folder and load and start downloading those torrents. This allows me to be downstairs on my newer laptop and check d-addicts for new files, download the torrent to the upstairs old computer, and have it magically start downloading. I would rather not have to go upstairs everytime I want to start a download.

If you want to continue using uTorrent, just click on the magnet link on your downstairs laptop and let uTorrent start the download. Stop the torrent and look for the downloaded torrent file in the uTorrent applicaiton data directory (%appdata%\utorrent). Copy the torrent file to the folder for your upstairs computer and then delete the torrent from uTorrent on the downstairs computer. At the moment uTorrent does not download the torrent file without starting the torrent like I do in Vuze/Azurues. From reading posts on their forum it looks like they are working on that feature though.

I ran across a utility called uTorrent Adder on the uTorrent forums. It uses the uTorrent WebUI. http://forum.utorrent.com/viewtopic.php?id=58253

yyy
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 7:33 am

Postby yyy » Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:55 pm

BaekSoo wrote:
yyy wrote:Is there a way to permanently load a tracker list so that I don't have to add it for each magnet? (until I feel it's time to update my list or something).


Did you try NOT loading the trackers? Does it still download even without the trackers?

If you are able to download then you don't really need the extra trackers. DHT works fine.

The trackers is only for those who have difficulty downloading WITHOUT the trackers.

I hope this helps.


Yup I did..but anyways... I don't know what I did, but it works now... Yup a newbie with this. But looks like the torrent files are back again.

RavenMizuki
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:30 pm

Postby RavenMizuki » Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:52 pm

I have been using flashget to download everything until lately some torrents can't be dl in flashget, thank you for this wonderful information! Now, I can learn Japanese while watching my favorite shows!

SiHooSi
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:52 pm

Postby SiHooSi » Sat Jun 30, 2012 8:51 pm

Thanks BaekSoo!

User avatar
aska
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 5:34 am
Location: Malaysia

Postby aska » Sun Jul 01, 2012 3:55 am

Help! I had copy the link location of the magnet & when i tried to paste it into Bittorrent, it says 'BTCP Link Format Error'.
Can anyone pls help?? I cant download my Jdrama & Kdrama :'(

User avatar
debi
Posts: 257
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:15 pm

Postby debi » Sun Jul 01, 2012 5:30 am

Thank you! :cheers:

User avatar
BaekSoo
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: Malaysia

Postby BaekSoo » Sun Jul 01, 2012 5:37 am

aska wrote:Help! I had copy the link location of the magnet & when i tried to paste it into Bittorrent, it says 'BTCP Link Format Error'.
Can anyone pls help?? I cant download my Jdrama & Kdrama :'(


Are you using Utorrent? If not then I suggest you start using it. It works fine for magnet links.
Image

spider79
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 8:57 am

Postby spider79 » Sun Jul 01, 2012 8:10 pm

TQ so much..
i'd been frustrated for 4 days..
and tonight, i can download as usual..

:)

ooijanice
Posts: 257
Joined: Sun May 09, 2004 12:16 pm

Postby ooijanice » Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:44 pm

Really appreciate the above tutorial.
Especially with the pics, noods like me can understand instructions better.
Thanks alot, dear BaekSoo.

User avatar
Ikari_Tsubasa
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 4:42 pm
Location: United States

Postby Ikari_Tsubasa » Sun Feb 17, 2013 3:50 am

Okay. I want to download The Legend or The Story of the First King's Four Gods, but the magnet link doesn't want to work. I downloaded it the second way, and opened it using BitTorrent, since I switched to that after my uTorrent started screwing up my computer several months ago, and I added the list of trackers manually, but it says it is downloading metadata and it has been saying that for the last several hours. What should I do about that? :scratch:

User avatar
BaekSoo
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: Malaysia

Postby BaekSoo » Sun Feb 17, 2013 5:23 am

Ikari_Tsubasa wrote:Okay. I want to download The Legend or The Story of the First King's Four Gods, but the magnet link doesn't want to work. I downloaded it the second way, and opened it using BitTorrent, since I switched to that after my uTorrent started screwing up my computer several months ago, and I added the list of trackers manually, but it says it is downloading metadata and it has been saying that for the last several hours. What should I do about that? :scratch:


Firstly are you having trouble only with this torrent or ALL torrents?

A magnet link works similar to a normal torrent. If there are no seeders or peers on the torrent to download the metadata then you won't be able to download it at all.
Image

User avatar
Ikari_Tsubasa
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 4:42 pm
Location: United States

Postby Ikari_Tsubasa » Sun Feb 17, 2013 6:41 am

BaekSoo wrote:
Ikari_Tsubasa wrote:Okay. I want to download The Legend or The Story of the First King's Four Gods, but the magnet link doesn't want to work. I downloaded it the second way, and opened it using BitTorrent, since I switched to that after my uTorrent started screwing up my computer several months ago, and I added the list of trackers manually, but it says it is downloading metadata and it has been saying that for the last several hours. What should I do about that? :scratch:


Firstly are you having trouble only with this torrent or ALL torrents?

A magnet link works similar to a normal torrent. If there are no seeders or peers on the torrent to download the metadata then you won't be able to download it at all.


I guess it must just be that the show has no seeds, since I tried the Horse Doctor show, which is still airing, and it worked just fine. Thanks for the info. I haven't been downloading lately; too busy student teaching. Finally got a little break and decided to catch up with downloading older shows that looked interesting. Didn't know there had been any change to anything till I looked around. Now I know :-)

LanceSalmo
Posts: 785
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 11:26 am

Postby LanceSalmo » Sun Aug 24, 2014 11:07 pm

Hey did not know where to post this but the magnet links are not working. Hope some one can fix the problem Thank you

User avatar
BaekSoo
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: Malaysia

Postby BaekSoo » Sun Aug 24, 2014 11:17 pm

LanceSalmo wrote:Hey did not know where to post this but the magnet links are not working. Hope some one can fix the problem Thank you


Magnet links are working fine. I just tested a random torrent and it works perfectly, as usual. :thumright:
Image

LanceSalmo
Posts: 785
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 11:26 am

Postby LanceSalmo » Sun Aug 24, 2014 11:33 pm

BaekSoo wrote:
LanceSalmo wrote:Hey did not know where to post this but the magnet links are not working. Hope some one can fix the problem Thank you


Magnet links are working fine. I just tested a random torrent and it works perfectly, as usual. :thumright:
Thank you soooo much I don't know what was going on maybe its just me lol I was starting to panic :)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests