New to fansubbing

For questions on the technical aspects about how to fansub. Come on, share those pearls of wisdom!
Tarlius

New to fansubbing

Postby Tarlius » Mon May 10, 2010 2:41 pm

Hey all, I been lurking in the background downloading dramas from here for a while, would first like to say thanks for all the work you guys have put in to the community be it admining the site, uploading the raws, providing the subs or whatever.
Getting my drama fix has been so much easier since I found this site, and I'm sure my Japanese has improved from it. :salut:

I've been studying Japanese for a few years and thinking about translation at some point when my Japanese improves but haven't really tried translating anything before (outside of classes), so I thought maybe I could try fansubbing.
Anyway, got a few questions.

Firstly, I was wondering how most translators translate?
At the moment I'm trying it with notepad on one side of the screen and video on the other and sorta draft it as the video plays, but I figure that maybe that'd be a bit tough for a timer to figure out? I've had a play with Aegisub but adding new lines seems to be a bit tedious since it stops the video, and looking at how teams are normally put together that seems to be what a timer would do?

What do timers normally expect to receive from a translator? (Or what do translators normally send to timers?)

Like, in my head I see two possible ways.
-An .srt file that has everything in order but all at like 0.0.0s or kinda near-ish the right place or something, or
-A .txt file with each line translated for the timer to copy and paste from.
Unless maybe "guess" timing is done first, then a .srt with rough timings is sent to a translator to fill in then back to a timer to clean up? It could be that different groups all have their own way, but what do your groups do?