jdorama.com and sars-fansubs.com

News, Updates and Information about this site.
This section is important, please read it for changes about the site!
User avatar
Ruroshin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2544
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:57 am
Contact:

jdorama.com and sars-fansubs.com

Postby Ruroshin » Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:01 am

An annoucement for those that visit these sites. The server that host those sites will be discontinued as of the 6th of November. I'm the process of transfering those sites to a new and faster server. During this period you may experience slow response from those sites as the accounts are archived and copied which contains gigabytes of data so it will take a while.

Also, d-addicts.net domain name relies on the nameserver hosted by that server as well so you may experience domain name resolution failures over the next couple of days. Although since the IP of the d-addicts.net itself will remain the same I'm hoping your DNS has it already cache and won't need to lookup the nameserver too much.

If you need to know though d-addicts.net IP is 217.172.47.136

I haven't sort out the new IP addresses for the affected sites yet but I'll post them here when I have them.
Last edited by Ruroshin on Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ruroshin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2544
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:57 am
Contact:

Postby Ruroshin » Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:07 am

ok moved finished.

jdorama.com new IP: 72.36.250.46
jtv-drama.org new IP: 72.36.250.45

sars-fansubs.com uses a shared IP.

The changes have been made your DNS should get the changes within 48hours. jtv-drama.org uses their own nameservers so I don't know when they'll get around to changing it but you can still access it via the IP.

User avatar
ironicwave
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 1:51 pm
Location: Germany

Postby ironicwave » Fri Nov 11, 2005 1:04 am

does this server move have anything to do with all torrents disappearing or am i the only lucky one with a blank page? :blink

EDIT: it pays to read the header doesn't it? duh!

so unrelated to mentioned sites, i'm still missing all torrents, any known reason for this?
___________________SARS-Fansubs______________________________________________________

GTOnizuka
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: Chicagoland area

Postby GTOnizuka » Fri Nov 11, 2005 1:07 am

I have the same prob also I think we just gotta be patient thanks Ruroshin for all the hardwork.
J Dramas is my form of crack :shocked:

User avatar
ironicwave
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 1:51 pm
Location: Germany

Postby ironicwave » Fri Nov 11, 2005 1:09 am

no problem with patience, i was just wondering if i was trippin'. :lol
___________________SARS-Fansubs______________________________________________________

GTOnizuka
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: Chicagoland area

Postby GTOnizuka » Fri Nov 11, 2005 1:16 am

Nope I thought the same to. I thought something was wrong with my connection. But then I read your post and thought okay im not the only one.
J Dramas is my form of crack :shocked:

User avatar
ironicwave
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 1:51 pm
Location: Germany

Postby ironicwave » Fri Nov 11, 2005 1:18 am

"I thawt I thaw a Puddy tat" - i did, i did see a puddy tat! :P

i gotta lay off the late nights. :lol
___________________SARS-Fansubs______________________________________________________

User avatar
FaustVIII
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:51 am
Location: Patch Village

Postby FaustVIII » Sat Nov 12, 2005 4:29 pm

I can't open jdorama.com am I the only one experiencing this problem? :scratch:
Image

User avatar
kukuri
Fansubber
Fansubber
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 2:12 am
Location: jtv, usa
Contact:

Postby kukuri » Sat Nov 12, 2005 4:36 pm

Hiya Ruroshin,
I think Chris moved jtv-drama.org to his server a few months back. :unsure:
Sorry we didn't tell you. :sweat:
Image Image

User avatar
Ruroshin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2544
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:57 am
Contact:

Postby Ruroshin » Sun Nov 13, 2005 12:04 am

kukuri wrote:Hiya Ruroshin,
I think Chris moved jtv-drama.org to his server a few months back. :unsure:
Sorry we didn't tell you. :sweat:


oh ok :lol

User avatar
Azumi
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 4:46 am
Contact:

jdorama.com server problems

Postby Azumi » Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:37 am

Sorry if it's the wrong thread. :cry:

I was able to access jdorama.com a few minutes ago, but now I only get this error:
phpBB : Critical Error

Could not connect to the database.
Please contact the webmaster at web@jdorama.com regarding this error.
Alternatively, come back again in an hour or two.

Sorry for any inconveniences caused..

- Genma


Am I the only one? :-(

User avatar
Azumi
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 4:46 am
Contact:

Postby Azumi » Tue Jan 24, 2006 2:08 pm

Nevermind. It's working fine now. :-)

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:00 pm

I'm having the same problem. :hissy:

User avatar
Ruroshin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2544
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:57 am
Contact:

Postby Ruroshin » Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:36 pm

There was a brief attack on the server, seems to have stopped now.

dochira
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:03 pm
Location: California

Postby dochira » Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:39 pm

I am experiencing problems posting at the site. I can login fine, but no posting.

User avatar
MissMonika
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 1:58 am
Location: The OC

Postby MissMonika » Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:42 pm

oh ok, that explains it. i totally thought my connection was going all crazy.

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:17 pm

Ruroshin wrote:There was a brief attack on the server, seems to have stopped now.

Glad to know it stopped. Stupid hackers. They probably killed the database. :glare:

I'm having the same problem as dochira, but I guess it'll work soon. Thanks. :thumright:

User avatar
Ruroshin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2544
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:57 am
Contact:

Postby Ruroshin » Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:50 pm

Some database rows were corrupted because of the crash, I've ran a repair on them so jdorama.com should be ok now.

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:47 am

It's working fine. Thank you for fixing the problem. :thumright: :salut:

User avatar
FaustVIII
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:51 am
Location: Patch Village

Postby FaustVIII » Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:37 am

Is it just me or is everyone experiencing the same problem in jdorama.com? :scratch: I can't get inside that forum :-( .
Image

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Wed Feb 22, 2006 3:19 pm

It's not working for me either.
phpBB : Critical Error

Error creating new session
:cry:

User avatar
FaustVIII
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:51 am
Location: Patch Village

Postby FaustVIII » Wed Feb 22, 2006 4:42 pm

tabana wrote:It's not working for me either.
phpBB : Critical Error

Error creating new session
:cry:


The same thing appears on my screen. It must be under maintenance or something :unsure:
Image

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:46 pm

...or someone hacked the server. I had the same error message 12 to 14 hours ago. :-(

User avatar
Ruroshin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2544
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:57 am
Contact:

Postby Ruroshin » Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:26 pm

fixed.

User avatar
yt_toshi
Posts: 1405
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: Land of the Bunchies

Postby yt_toshi » Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:34 pm

So, what happened Ruroshin? Did someone hacked the system or was it a maintenance problem?
D-Addicts is like a library: Most of the resources are there, you just have to search around!

My 1000th post: How to be a Good Fansubber :-)

pokute
Fansubber
Fansubber
Posts: 1290
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:15 pm

Postby pokute » Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:36 pm

Ruro, just a suggestion, if the same unhelpful message seems to be appearing regularly for a known reason, hook the error with a custom message that is more aptly descriptive of the problem. If you can think of one that would tend to discourage users from bouncing on the reload button, even better ;^)

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:39 pm

Thank you very very much. :w000t: :thumright:

User avatar
Ruroshin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2544
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:57 am
Contact:

Postby Ruroshin » Wed Feb 22, 2006 11:23 pm

yt_toshi wrote:So, what happened Ruroshin? Did someone hacked the system or was it a maintenance problem?


There was a control panel bug that prevented the collection of stats and bandwidth usage. This required an upgrade of perl and among other things to fix. Once that was fixed the weblog process that collects the stat was running again but since it had to do a catchup for all the days it missed it ran for quite a while which caused the server to slow down a bit. This in turn caused the DB server to start slowing down an hence couldn't process all the requests in time and this resulted in the automatic monitoring process to autokill it to prevent it from grinding the server to a complete halt. Afterwards the DB auto restarted but jdorama was just unlucky that it had a corrupted session row and refused to startup (other phpbb sites on the server went up ok). So I went in and truncated that row and all is well again.

So thats what happen :-)

pokute wrote:Ruro, just a suggestion, if the same unhelpful message seems to be appearing regularly for a known reason, hook the error with a custom message that is more aptly descriptive of the problem. If you can think of one that would tend to discourage users from bouncing on the reload button, even better ;^)


Hrm its a phpbb message when it can't access the DB. I don't want to change any of genma's files so I'll leave it up to him to do any changes to his site.

User avatar
FaustVIII
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:51 am
Location: Patch Village

Postby FaustVIII » Thu Feb 23, 2006 2:40 am

Thanks for fixing it :salut: :-)
Image

barometerrising
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 7:40 pm

Postby barometerrising » Thu Feb 23, 2006 7:53 pm

I've been trying to download "Aoi Tori", but I keep getting the message "The page cannot be found." To see what would happen, I tried at random to download some other torrents too, but I keep getting the same message, "The page cannot be found." I've tried Japanese dramas, Korean dramas, Chinese dramas, everything - but I always get the message, "The page cannot be found." Am I doing something wrong? What's happening?

User avatar
Ruroshin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2544
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:57 am
Contact:

Postby Ruroshin » Thu Feb 23, 2006 10:45 pm

^ This doesn't have anything to do with jdorama.com or sars-fansubs.com??

Anyway, you might have either a dns problem or a network path problem.

Try reading [b]Q6. I can't seem to download the ".torrent" file. What can I do?[/u]
http://www.d-addicts.com/forum/viewtopi ... 453#141453

dochira
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:03 pm
Location: California

Postby dochira » Mon Feb 27, 2006 7:29 am

I'm guessing it not just me, but is there a problem with accessing jdorama.com? It seems I am able to ping the IP (72.36.250.46), except the page doesn't show up.

User avatar
mizune
Geinou Fansubber
Geinou Fansubber
Posts: 2191
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 5:45 pm
Location: undercover admin

Postby mizune » Mon Feb 27, 2006 7:38 am

It's not just you... something wacky has apparently been going on with the server since yesterday-ish...

...and aftershocks have triggered another tsunami on the island.... ^_^;;;;

User avatar
Ruroshin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2544
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:57 am
Contact:

Postby Ruroshin » Mon Feb 27, 2006 10:00 am

hmmmmmm :scratch:

jholic
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4491
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 7:53 pm
Location: missin' hawaii

Postby jholic » Tue Feb 28, 2006 1:55 am

doch: what's up, man? hope the new year's been treating you well.

i concur. i am also unable to get into jdorama. bmw must be having a fit! :lol
Use THUMBS UP/DOWN buttons to KEEP or DELETE posts.
If you see SPAM or ABUSE, use the REPORT button.

User avatar
Ruroshin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2544
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:57 am
Contact:

Postby Ruroshin » Tue Feb 28, 2006 2:10 am

jdorama.com is kinda up, just the index page is disabled. If you can figure out another page in jdorama then you can get in that way then read the problem thread to find out whats up.

dochira
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:03 pm
Location: California

Postby dochira » Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:06 am

jholic wrote:doch: what's up, man? hope the new year's been treating you well.

Thanks. It certainly has. :D Hope things are going well for you.

User avatar
alina
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 7:50 pm

Postby alina » Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:26 pm

This may be a stupid question, but is de jtv site down?
I couldn't get in for many weeks now. They've been down in the past but never for so long.
Could someone shed some light on this matter?
thank you

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Tue Feb 28, 2006 9:32 pm

It's working fine. They change from jtv-drama.org to JTV drama.net. Their domain name expired and they couldn't get it back, so they took a new one. :-)

User avatar
alina
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 7:50 pm

Postby alina » Fri Mar 03, 2006 7:47 am

thank you for the new url!

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Fri Mar 03, 2006 4:08 pm

No problem. :-)

User avatar
FaustVIII
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:51 am
Location: Patch Village

Postby FaustVIII » Wed Mar 22, 2006 3:09 am

Seems like jdorama is down :-( . I keep getting this message:

"phpBB : Critical Error

Error creating new session".
Image

Smiley_18
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Location: Somewhere Over the Rainbow

Postby Smiley_18 » Wed Apr 05, 2006 4:58 am

Is it just me? Or has anyone else been having trouble loading Jdorama.com? :blink
Currently downloading ~ 1963
Currently watching ~ Beyond The Realm Of Conscience [tvb]

User avatar
airskape
Posts: 381
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 6:21 pm

Postby airskape » Wed Apr 05, 2006 5:54 am

works fine for me :salut:

User avatar
groink
Posts: 3218
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 3:58 am
Location: Pearl City, Hawaii

Postby groink » Wed Apr 05, 2006 6:03 am

Don't feel bad Smiley... I cannot reach JDorama.com either. I can ping it - just can't connect via a web browser.

--- groink
1. Always read FAQs for a given forum before posting.
2. Read the first few posts in a topic before posting.
3. Speak using complete English words.
4. The Internet is international. Respect regional and cultural values.

User avatar
Ruroshin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2544
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:57 am
Contact:

Postby Ruroshin » Wed Apr 05, 2006 9:05 am

hrm no problems accessing it from here.

User avatar
groink
Posts: 3218
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 3:58 am
Location: Pearl City, Hawaii

Postby groink » Wed Apr 05, 2006 9:10 am

Ruroshin wrote:hrm no problems accessing it from here.

It's working for me "right now". Because I never go to the site, it probably was just a really bad window the time I tried it.

Jairick
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 7:05 am

Postby Jairick » Wed Apr 05, 2006 9:11 am

i can access www.jdorama.com perfectly well.

User avatar
Ruroshin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2544
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:57 am
Contact:

Postby Ruroshin » Wed Apr 05, 2006 9:24 am

groink wrote:
Ruroshin wrote:hrm no problems accessing it from here.

It's working for me "right now". Because I never go to the site, it probably was just a really bad window the time I tried it.


actually it seems jdorama.com gets regularly targeted by some sort of low level dos all the time, I frequently see IPs opening up lots of connections to it, sometimes I would banned these IPs but then a few days later it just starts up again.

User avatar
Ruroshin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2544
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:57 am
Contact:

Postby Ruroshin » Wed Apr 05, 2006 9:54 am

it seems to be happening again, either there's a crap load of users that suddenly found jdorama.com or someone out there just doesn't like jdorama.com and really wants to dos the crap out of it.

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Wed Apr 05, 2006 2:21 pm

Thanks for the info and support. :thumleft:

It could be my boss or a frequent user's girlfriend/boyfriend. :P I saw a few spammers / spam bots a few weeks ago. Maybe it's them. :scratch:

Smiley_18
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Location: Somewhere Over the Rainbow

Postby Smiley_18 » Wed Apr 05, 2006 5:24 pm

Thanks for all these helpful answers, it's working fine for me again. :D
Currently downloading ~ 1963

Currently watching ~ Beyond The Realm Of Conscience [tvb]

pokute
Fansubber
Fansubber
Posts: 1290
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:15 pm

Postby pokute » Wed Apr 05, 2006 5:43 pm

I use this:

http://dominia.org/djao/limitipconn.html

It works very well for discouraging DOS attacks, But I haven't seen any data for it on a REALLY busy server.

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Wed Apr 05, 2006 6:04 pm

Thanks pokute. That'll be useful for me. :thumleft:

User avatar
FaustVIII
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:51 am
Location: Patch Village

Postby FaustVIII » Fri Apr 07, 2006 4:40 pm

The website of jdorama is working, but the message board is unavailable :-( .
Image

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Fri Apr 07, 2006 5:53 pm

You can check the main page for the new IP.

We have migrated JDorama.com to a new location. The site will be available worldwide within 2 days. Sorry for the inconveniences caused.

If you are desperate to use the site, you can manually map jdorama.com's new location.
...

qilver
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 6:54 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby qilver » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:52 pm

tabana wrote:You can check the main page for the new IP.

We have migrated JDorama.com to a new location. The site will be available worldwide within 2 days. Sorry for the inconveniences caused.

If you are desperate to use the site, you can manually map jdorama.com's new location.
...


hey tabana,

guess jdorama is going to be down for awhile...
i didn't know you were on d-addicts too, cool. What's up?

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Fri Apr 07, 2006 11:31 pm

Nothing much. I'm just glad it's friday. :P

It's working fine for me. I posted at least 20 messages today. I'm the only one on it though. :sweat: If you want to access it, you just need to wait until the DNS is updated for your ISP, that can take up to 48 hours. :glare: ... or you can set it manually.

Open the hosts file in notepad or wordpad located in c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\ . You may need to remove the read only. Then just add this line:

Code: Select all

72.20.18.85   jdorama.com

Save the file, restart your browser and it should be ok. :-)

You should be able to delete the line in a day or two.

qilver
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 6:54 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby qilver » Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:47 am

tabana wrote:Nothing much. I'm just glad it's friday. :P

It's working fine for me. I posted at least 20 messages today. I'm the only one on it though. :sweat: If you want to access it, you just need to wait until the DNS is updated for your ISP, that can take up to 48 hours. :glare: ... or you can set it manually.

Open the hosts file in notepad or wordpad located in c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\ . You may need to remove the read only. Then just add this line:

Code: Select all

72.20.18.85   jdorama.com

Save the file, restart your browser and it should be ok. :-)

You should be able to delete the line in a day or two.


thanks for the info, but knowing how bad i am with techie/computer stuff, i think i'll wait it out, and just access it normally. I can't wait to get back to posting on jdorama...i miss it a lot. :whistling: :mrgreen:

User avatar
FaustVIII
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:51 am
Location: Patch Village

Postby FaustVIII » Sat Apr 08, 2006 10:23 am

Just open "my computer" and paste the location on the address bar. Once you get there, you will see several unknown application icons and "host" is one of them. Click it and a window will appear asking for a type of program you will use to open that file, choose notepad. Once the notepad opens, type the code given by tabana, save it and you're good to go :-) .
Image

space_cadet
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:20 pm

Postby space_cadet » Tue Apr 11, 2006 8:18 pm

I've edited the host file, but I still can't access the site. Is it only me?

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Tue Apr 11, 2006 8:34 pm

That's weird.

Everybody can access it as far as I know. In fact, I undid the changes to my host file yesterday and its working fine. It should've worked for you too by now.

You can undo the changes to your host file to see if it works. Most people didn't do anything and just waited for a day or two to be able to access it.

I don't know what to say... :scratch:

space_cadet
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:20 pm

Postby space_cadet » Tue Apr 11, 2006 8:40 pm

I'm still getting the "We have migrated jdorama..." page. I unedited the host file and it's still the same.

Any other ideas? I rely on jdorama a lot, I don't want to be stuck outside forever. :-(

User avatar
android_04
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 7:12 pm
Location: United States

Postby android_04 » Tue Apr 11, 2006 8:50 pm

Try clearing your browser cache

space_cadet
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:20 pm

Postby space_cadet » Tue Apr 11, 2006 8:59 pm

android_04 wrote:Try clearing your browser cache


Thanks, but no help. :-(

User avatar
yt_toshi
Posts: 1405
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: Land of the Bunchies

Postby yt_toshi » Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:03 pm

@space_cadet: What have you tried so far besides editing the hosts file and clearing your browser cache?
D-Addicts is like a library: Most of the resources are there, you just have to search around!



My 1000th post: How to be a Good Fansubber :-)

space_cadet
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:20 pm

Postby space_cadet » Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:06 pm

Honestly, I don't even know where to begin, because I have no idea what the problem is.

User avatar
yt_toshi
Posts: 1405
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: Land of the Bunchies

Postby yt_toshi » Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:10 pm

space_cadet wrote:Honestly, I don't even know where to begin, because I have no idea what the problem is.


Are you connecting to the site from work or home?
D-Addicts is like a library: Most of the resources are there, you just have to search around!



My 1000th post: How to be a Good Fansubber :-)

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:10 pm

You can try this in the command line. In the start menu, click on run and then type cmd.

In the blackbox type:

Code: Select all

nslookup www.jdorama.com


Something like this should pop up:

Code: Select all

Server: ns1.yourisp.com
Address: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: jdorama.com
Address: 72.20.18.85
Aliases: www.jdorama.com


If the 1st server is your ISP, but the jdorama's IP address is wrong, the problem may be your ISP. :-(

space_cadet
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:20 pm

Postby space_cadet » Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:16 pm

Okay, it's like you said - the first server is my ISP, but the address for jdorama is 72.36.250.46. What's the problem exactly? Is there anything I can do about it?

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:27 pm

It means your ISP namespace server, the one that convert DNS (jdorama.com) to an IP address (72.20.18.85) as not been updated yet. Usually it takes up to 72 hours, but it's almost done between 24 to 48 hours. By editing the host file, it skips the lookup on the ISP namespace server and go straigh to the specifed IP. It's like dialing a phone number directly instead of looking in the phone book. In their case, it's like they still have the old phone number.

I don't know why editing the host file doesn't work in your case. It could be some kind of filtering on their part or a proxy server. :scratch:

In that case, you can't do much about it. Except wait for them to update their records or ask them to do it.

space_cadet
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:20 pm

Postby space_cadet » Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:30 pm

Alright, so the problem will probably be rectified eventually... right? :-(

Either way, thanks a lot for trying to help, and to everyone else too.

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:40 pm

You're welcome. :thumright:

Yeah, it should work soon. Unless their records are updated every week or worst, but that's unlikely. If you still can't access it by the end of the week, I'd give them a call. Keep us updated if you still have problems. :-)

space_cadet
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:20 pm

Postby space_cadet » Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:17 pm

I'm in! :cheers:

It was an issue with my proxy server.

Thanks again for the help. I wouldn't have figured it out otherwise. :-)

User avatar
tabana
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tabana » Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:31 pm

No problem. Glad I could help. :dance:


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest